Hard Hard Hard Dog Treats

I bought a toy for my dog today.  This is the first one of its kind that she hasn’t figured out how to discombobulate within fifteen minutes.  I love the Starmark brand.  They obviously put time and effort into the design.  This is called the Groovy Ball.  The unfortunate part is the treats that go inside of it are expensive (over 15 dollars for two).  I am now looking for a recipe, so I can make my own treats.

The first step, however, is going to be to make a mold of the treat.

I think that the recipe is something like the salt/milk trekking rations for monks.  But I am not sure.

I found a website that gave me some pointers.  The first is to use rice flour for a tighter bond, and the second is that any treat baked in the oven needs to be left in the oven as the oven cools down.  This should make them hard, and they shouldn’t crumble or crunch right down.

The sample recipe is from HERE and looks like this:

2 cups of rice flour
1 cup of plain rolled oats
1 cup of cheese low fat grated tasty cheese
1 sprinkling of garlic powder
enough water to form a dough (approx 1 to 2 cups)

Roll it out to a thickness of approx half a centimeter, cut into desired shapes and bake until cooked (approx 10 to 15 minutes at 180 to 200 degrees C), allow to cool and store in an air tight container in the fridge for up to two weeks.

While this looks like a good treat recipe and it might well work in the treat ball, I am thinking that something more pure, like just gluten bonds, and the moisture with flavoring.  The original recipe looks like mostly wheat gluten, and glycerin with flavor.  I will update this when I have tried these sorts of recipes out

Leave a Reply

