Crush glass with vibrating tumbler

Project:  Crushing glass bottles with a vibratory tumbler.

Reason:  I would like to have them break down into small pieces, including glass dust for melting, beading, enameling etc.

Theory:  I should be able to break glass bottles down by smashing them into smaller pieces.  Then hopefully I should be able to crush them into small pieces, including glass dust in the tumbler with the right media.

Problems:  Sound – I will build a sound proofed box to put the tumbler inside while it is working.  Media – I am not sure what to use, but I think it should be large, chunky and metal.  Chain, Nuts, Bolts etc.  Dust – The box should take care of most of this, but I can wear a mask when I open the tumbler

Vibratory Tumbler, or Thumlers?
Vibratory Tumbler, or Thumlers?

research

One comment

Leave a Reply

