Dolls dolls dolls

image005

Working on the man in the moons hands.  I haven’t every worked finely with ceramic clay until now.  Let me tell you, it isn’t easy.

Some things I have learned.  If the clay is too wet, it will stick to your hands.  Work on some sort of smooth material that absorbs water.  This way you can roll the clay or whatever and decrease the wetness fast.  As well if you work on that surface you can paint water onto the clay without it laying there.  It is easier to add then remove when wet, and the oppisite when dry.

You can paint with slip.  Once the thing is close to dry it hardens like cement but has some give.  Very easy to carve, but more brittle.

To get the hands evenly sized I may just make a wire armature and paint slip onto it.

5 comments

  1. Have you ever tried adding pigment to ceramic clay (like when it is wet and you are modelling it, or added to slip)? I’m trying to find a clay that allows me to put colour into it (so I have a variety of colours, without using Polymer clay). So far, my experiments with stone clay are mixed, but I find that it tends to be a lot “drier” so I was thinking of trying a more wet clay..

    • That is one thing I intend to experiment with. My ponderings have led me to the idea that scintering the clay will burn off pigments for the most part. However, I feel as though there is the possibility that if you sandwich a color between clear glazes it may just work. I will report my findings though.

Leave a Reply

