Experimental Ball Joint

Ball joint is not actually the right word.  I am experiementing with some form of solid joints that move fluidly but aren’t as difficult as the traditional ball joint with elastics.

My first try was to inset a hook, but I couldn’t come up with a viable connector to it.

Second was a screw, where polymer clay is molded around the head and then wiggle it around until it has the right amount of flexibility.  I realized though that while I thought it was a great idea at first (because it has its own securing method), that once the ball head is on the screw I would have trouble actually getting it to be secure inside of whatever form it would be inserted into

Third is a play on the second.  Instead of using a screw, I used a nail.  I will use some form of super glue to secure it inside the form.

Once cured, I realize that this is a partial solution.  The reason i say partial is because it has a full range of motion, meaning that whatever is attached can turn three hundred sixty degrees, up down and around.

Fourth is like the third.  The first joint will only turn radially.  The second joint enveloping the first, will turn in a limited manner hopefully, turning on a little knob on the first.  The notch is another small nail.  When it comes out I can cut the movements into it with a dremel tool.  Also to bake polymer clay onto polymer clay without it sticking I dipped it first into potato starch then formed the second piece over the first baked piece.  I am not sure how well this is going to work unless I can trim it down by a lot.  My first try is quite bulky.  Result:  Closer but not workable.

The main reason I was looking for a way around the traditional bjd is because the limbs and attachment points do not seem solid enough.  I will do a few experiements with it, but using 1/4 inch copper piping as the inner support for limbs and the like.

Leave a Reply

