Android apps on your Kindle

So it took me a long time to figure this out.  Probably a lot longer than it should have.

For those of you like me who are not satisfied with only Amazon apps on your kindles and think you have to root or sideload, let me help you.  The other thing which drove me bonkers was HOW to get the apps to show up on my home page so I didn’t have to keep installing them.

A couple of standard things you will see in all other tutorials:

You need to turn on Apps from Unknown Sources.
This is found by swiping down, going into settings and going into applications

You need to download ES File Explorer from the App store and Install that.

On your Kindle, go to http://market.1mobile.com Or lookup 1 mobile market.  Download and Install.

Once installed you can hit your home button.

HERE IS HOW TO GET THOSE SNEAKY ICONS ONTO YOUR HOME SCREEN!

At the top of the screen hit apps.  Go through the list and find 1 Mobile Market

Press and hold on that icon and then ‘Add to Home’

Now touch that Icon, download and install stuff.

This isn’t ALL of google, and it isn’t exactly the same as being able to load all of the android apps, but it does have many.

I couldn’t get a lot of the fitness apps from Amazon, like the pebble, jawbone UP, or misfit.  I was doing the research fervently before I could purchase one of these devices.

If you have any questions let me know

Leave a Reply

